Previous | Item 6 of 4436 |

Schools' Collection : County Laois schools

Bailiúchán na Scol : Scoileanna Contae Laois

Bailiúchán na Scol : Scoileanna Contae Laois

Abstract: Bailiúchán na Scol, or The Schools’ Collection, is the result of a scheme initiated by the Irish Folklore Commission in collaboration with the Department of Education and the Irish National Teachers' Organisation. The scheme encouraged primary school children in the Irish Free State to collect and document folklore and local history. This collection contains chapters of material collected by County Laois schools.

Each chapter contains a collection of stories from an individual school (or a particular class within a school). Each chapter has a title page giving the name of the school, the parish, the barony, the county and the teacher.

In collection The Schools' Collection

  1. Portarlington (Christian Brothers)
  2. Portarlington (Presentation Convent)
  3. Reary, Rosenallis
  4. Rosenallis
  5. Capard, Rosenallis
  6. Mountmellick (B.)
  7. Mountmellick Convent
  8. Derrylemoge, Mountmellick
  9. Castlecuffe, Mountmellick
  10. Clonaslee (C.)
  11. Tinnahinch, Mountmellick
  12. Paddock, Mountrath
  13. Rush Hall, Mountrath
  14. Clonin, Mountrath
  15. Castletown, Mountrath
  16. Killanure, Mountrath
  17. Camross, Mountrath
  18. Camross, Mountrath
  19. Camross, Mountrath
  20. Offerlane
  21. Rathdowney (B.)
  22. Rathdowney (B.)
  23. St John of God Convent, Rathdowney
  24. Castlefleming, Ballybrophy
  25. Errill, Ballybrophy
  26. Gráig (2)
  27. Killadooley, Ballybrophy
  28. Borris-in-Ossory (Convent)
  29. Naomh Coinneach, Borris-in-Ossory
  30. St Canice's, Aghaboe
  31. Foxrock, Ballacolla
  32. Aghavoe
  33. Durrow (B.)
  34. Castle Durrow
  35. Gurteen, Durrow
  36. Cullahill (B.), Rathdowwney
  37. Cullahill (C.), Rathdowwney
  38. Ballinakill (B.)
  39. Ballinakill (C.)
  40. Cnoc, Abbeyleix
  41. Timahoe
  42. Ballyroan (Convent)
  43. Abbeyleix (South)
  44. Abbeyleix Convent
  45. Ráithín, Mainistir Laoighse
  46. Shanahoe, Kilbricken
  47. Barnashrone, Mountmellick
  48. Briscula, Mountrath
  49. Ballyfin, Mountrath
  50. Trummera, Mountrath
  51. An Mhainistir, Móin Rátha
  52. Ballyfin, Mountrath
  53. An Mhainistir, Móin Rátha
  54. St Brigid's Convent, Mountrath
  55. The Oak, Portlaoighse
  56. Scoil na mBráthar, Portlaoighse
  57. Portlaoighse (Convent)
  58. Aughnahilla, Stradbally
  59. Straboe
  60. Ballybrittas
  61. Morette, Portarlington
  62. Emo, Portarlington
  63. Ballyadams
  64. Wolfhill
  65. Boley, Ballylinan, Athy
  66. Ballylinan (Killabban)
  67. Shangannamore
  68. Loughteague, Stradbally
  69. Luggacurran (2), Stradbally
  70. Luggacurren (1), Stradbally
  71. Fairymount, Crettyard, Carlow
  72. Tolerton, Ballylickmoyler
  73. Tolerton, Ballylickmoyler
  74. Bilboa
  75. Ardough, Carlow
  76. The Rushes, Ballylickmoyler
  77. Killeshin, Carlow
Origin information
Laois, Ireland
Date created:
Type of Resource
Physical description
77 chapters
vol. 0823-0839
Irish  English  
Folklore--Ireland--Laois (Ireland)
University College Dublin. National Folklore Collection UCD
Suggested credit
Laois County Schools, University College Dublin, National Folklore Collection UCD © University College Dublin. Digital content by Glenbeigh Records Management, published by UCD Library, University College Dublin <>
Record source
Metadata creation date: 2017-03-02 — Metadata created by Fiontar, Dublin City University, in collaboration with the National Folklore Collection UCD and UCD Library. Original Fiontar metadata converted into MODS by UCD Library. Initial EAD record derived from MODS.

Rights & Usage Conditions

Creative Commons License
The Schools' Collection : County Laois schools is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Copyright of the original resource: University College Dublin

To use for commercial purposes, please contact the National Folklore Collection, UCD - See: