Schools' Collection - UCD Digital Library

Schools' Collection : County Kildare schools

Bailiúchán na Scol : Scoileanna Contae Kildara

Bailiúchán na Scol : Scoileanna Contae Kildara

Abstract: Bailiúchán na Scol, or The Schools’ Collection, is the result of a scheme initiated by the Irish Folklore Commission in collaboration with the Department of Education and the Irish National Teachers' Organisation. The scheme encouraged primary school children in the Irish Free State to collect and document folklore and local history. This collection contains chapters of material collected by County Kildare schools.

Each chapter contains a collection of stories from an individual school (or a particular class within a school). Each chapter has a title page giving the name of the school, the parish, the barony, the county and the teacher.

In collection The Schools' Collection

  1. Broadford, Moyvalley
  2. Cadamstown, Enfeild
  3. Derinturn, Carbury
  4. Derinturn (B.), Carbury
  5. Carbury
  6. Naomh Muire, Donadea
  7. Rathcoffey, Donadea
  8. Newtown, Kilcock
  9. Kilcock (Pres. Convent)
  10. Maynooth (Pres. Convent)
  11. Maynooth (Pres. Convent)
  12. St. Brigid's Convent, Kildraught
  13. Kildraught (2)
  14. Leixlip (C.)
  15. Kill
  16. Abbey (B.), Celbridge
  17. Kilteel, Naas
  18. Prosperous (B.), Naas
  19. Clane (Pres. Convent)
  20. Hewetson, Clane
  21. Allenwood
  22. Allenwood
  23. Allenwood, Robertstown
  24. Robertstown, Naas
  25. Kilmeague, Naas
  26. Baile an Mhuilinn, An Droichead Nua
  27. Clongorey, An Droichead Nua
  28. Athgarvan, Curragh
  29. Newbridge Convent
  30. Naas (Christan Bros.)
  31. Naas (Mercy Convent)
  32. Brannockstown
  33. Ballymore-Eustace (B.)
  34. Brownstown (B.), Curragh Camp
  35. Brownstown (C.), Curragh Camp
  36. Suncroft, Curragh Camp
  37. Boston
  38. Mercy Convent, Rathangan
  39. Rathangan (B.)
  40. Barnaran, Rathangan
  41. Cill Dara (Pres. Convent)
  42. Mainistir Chille Dara
  43. Monasterevin (Christian Bros.)
  44. Mercy Convent, Monasterevan
  45. Monasterevan (2)
  46. Nurney
  47. Kildangan (C.)
  48. Kildangan (B.)
  49. Ballyshannon, Kilcullen
  50. Kilcullen (Convent)
  51. Ballymount
  52. Churchtown, Athy
  53. Kilberry, Athy
  54. Skerries, Athy
  55. Kilkea, Mageney
  56. Levitstown, Mageney
  57. Levitstown, Mageney
  58. Athy (St. Michael's Convent)
  59. Athy (Christian Bros.)
  60. Castledermot (C.)
  61. Bigstone, Baltinglas
Origin information
Kildare, Ireland
Date created:
Type of Resource
Physical description
61 chapters
vol. 0771-0782
Irish  English  
Folklore--Ireland--Kildare (County)
University College Dublin. National Folklore Collection UCD
Suggested credit
Kildare County Schools, University College Dublin, National Folklore Collection UCD © University College Dublin. Digital content by Glenbeigh Records Management, published by UCD Library, University College Dublin <>
Record source
Metadata creation date: 2017-12-03 — Metadata created by Fiontar, Dublin City University, in collaboration with the National Folklore Collection UCD and UCD Library. Original Fiontar metadata converted into MODS by UCD Library. Initial EAD record derived from MODS.

Rights & Usage Conditions

Creative Commons License
The Schools' Collection : County Kildare schools is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Copyright of the original resource: University College Dublin

To use for commercial purposes, please contact the National Folklore Collection, UCD - See: