Schools' Collection - UCD Digital Library

Schools' Collection : County Wicklow schools

Bailiúchán na Scol : Scoileanna Contae Cill Mhantáin

Bailiúchán na Scol : Scoileanna Contae Cill Mhantáin

Abstract: Bailiúchán na Scol, or The Schools’ Collection, is the result of a scheme initiated by the Irish Folklore Commission in collaboration with the Department of Education and the Irish National Teachers' Organisation. The scheme encouraged primary school children in the Irish Free State to collect and document folklore and local history. This collection contains chapters of material collected by County Wicklow schools.

Each chapter contains a collection of stories from an individual school (or a particular class within a school). Each chapter has a title page giving the name of the school, the parish, the barony, the county and the teacher.

In collection The Schools' Collection

  1. St. Cronan's, Bray
  2. St. Paul's, Bray
  3. Calary, Bray
  4. Loreto Convent, Bray
  5. Kilmacanogue, Bray
  6. Powerscourt
  7. Kilbride
  8. Blessington (1)
  9. Blessington
  10. Donard
  11. Dunlavin (B.)
  12. Dunlavin (C.)
  13. Dunlavin (2)
  14. Baile Uí Mheirigín, Merginstown
  15. Baile Dháithí, Dunlavin
  16. Baile Dháithí, Dunlavin
  17. Seskin, Donard
  18. Knockanargan, Dunlavin
  19. Stratford Lodge
  20. Grangecon
  21. Presentation Convent, Baltinglas
  22. Baltinglas
  23. Valleymount
  24. Talbotstown, Kiltegan
  25. Kiltegan
  26. Annacarter
  27. Glendalough
  28. Roundwood
  29. Moneytown, Roundwood
  30. Lough Dan, Roundwood
  31. An Maoilín, Ráth Droma
  32. Ballinacarrig, Rathdrum
  33. Rathdrum (2), (?)
  34. Rathdrum (B)
  35. Tinahely
  36. Kilcommon
  37. Ballycumber
  38. Rathcoyle, Kiltegan
  39. Rathmeage, Hackettstown
  40. Askanagap
  41. Ballinatone, Rathdrum
  42. Ballycreen, Aughrim
  43. Muclagh, Aughrim
  44. Aughrim (B.)
  45. Aughrim (C.)
  46. Coolfancy, Tinahely
  47. Ballyrahan, Tinahely
  48. Coolroe, Tinahely
  49. Littlewood, Coolkenna
  50. Johnstown, Arklow
  51. Carysfort, Arklow
  52. Arklow (Mercy) Convent (An Charraig)
  53. Arklow Convent
  54. Arklow (B.)
  55. Ferrybank, Arklow
  56. Barraniskey, Avoca
  57. Conary, Avoca
  58. Castlemacadam
  59. Avoca (Newbridge)
  60. Kilmacoo, Avoca
  61. Ballintemple, Woodenbridge
  62. Redcross
  63. Newbawn, Rathdrum
  64. Brittas, Wicklow
  65. Wicklow Convent
  66. Wicklow (B.) (2)
  67. Rathnew
  68. Killoughter
  69. Ballylusk & Glenealy
  70. Ballyduff
  71. Newtownmount Kennedy
  72. Newcastle
  73. Holy Faith Convent, Newtownmount Kennedy
  74. Kilcoole (B.), Delgany
  75. Holy Faith Convent, Kilcoole
  76. Newtownmountkennedy
  77. Holy Faith Convent, Newtownmountkennedy
Origin information
Wicklow, Ireland
Date created:
Type of Resource
Physical description
77 chapters
vol. 0912-0928
Irish  English  
Folklore--Ireland--Wicklow (County)
University College Dublin. National Folklore Collection UCD
Suggested credit
Wicklow County Schools, University College Dublin, National Folklore Collection UCD © University College Dublin. Digital content by Glenbeigh Records Management, published by UCD Library, University College Dublin <>
Record source
Metadata creation date: 2017-07-25 — Metadata created by Fiontar, Dublin City University, in collaboration with the National Folklore Collection UCD and UCD Library. Original Fiontar metadata converted into MODS by UCD Library. Initial EAD record derived from MODS.

Rights & Usage Conditions

Creative Commons License
The Schools' Collection : County Wicklow schools is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Copyright of the original resource: University College Dublin

To use for commercial purposes, please contact the National Folklore Collection, UCD - See: